Come to the Table

Coming to the table of the Lord, I approach slowly and carefully. I take one step at a time…slowly nearing the altar of the Lord. I am overwhelmed with the conviction that I am dirty and unclean – and yet also overwhelmed with the realization that I am forgiven and made beautiful by the Creator of the universe! Woe is me! A humbling significance!

Something in me knows that this is going to change my life. The Word of the Lord is a strong tower…a shelter to run into and seek refuge. The Word of the Lord is a two edged sword…piercing between life and death, between dark and light. The Word of the Lord is a lamp unto my feet…a guide without which I am utterly lost. Do I believe? When I open the living Word, do I believe that the Lord is who He says He is? Do I believe that He will do what He says He will do? Do I believe that I am who He says I am? Oh, if I would believe…it would change my life!

What if I lived with the realization, the conviction that I am who the Lord says I am? That I am defined by nothing other than the living Word of the Lord? How would it affect my attitude if I believed that I am a child of God and a fellow heir with Christ? And if children, then heirs (namely, heirs of God and also fellow heirs with Christ)–if indeed we suffer with him so we may also be glorified with him (Romans 8:17). How would it change my self image if I believed that I am no longer condemned and shamed? There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus (Romans 8:1). How would it transform my thoughts and therefore the words that come out of my mouth if I believed that I have been set free through the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. For freedom Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not be subject again to the yoke of slavery (Galatians 5:1).

Sister, either the Word is true or it is not! If it is not true, then we are just wasting our time. If it is true…then it is ALL true, and it is ALIVE and ACTIVE and it has the power to set us FREE! So, I am going to ask you a question…are you free? Are you experiencing the realities of being a daughter of the LORD right now, today, in your circumstances? Or, do you find yourself asking, “I know I am a Christian. I accepted Christ in my heart. I prayed the prayer. I go to church on Sunday mornings. But I still feel trapped, imprisoned, helpless, and so so tired. There has got to be more to life than this! This cannot be what the Christian life is all about! Where are you, God?” If you relate more with the latter, then I have a second question? When was the last time you welcomed the living, breathing, powerful Word of the Lord into your life. I am not talking about putting a scripture bumper sticker on your car or trying not to fall asleep in Sunday morning church. I am talking about turning off the television, putting down your phone, going to your closet and opening your Bible and inviting the Holy Spirit to come alive! And your “closet” may actually be a closet! Sometimes my alone time may only come in the bathroom! Your closet may be your car on your lunch break, or your laundry room as you fold clothes, or your bed when all your family has finally gone to sleep. For the morning people (which I certainly am not!) your closet may be right next to your coffee pot early in the day before your children awake and the joyous chaos begins.

I can promise you two things: 1) It will not be easy. It is not supposed to be easy. Do not forget that this world is not our home and that the enemy is always waging a war to keep you busy and to give you every reason not to spend time with the Lord. 2) IT WILL ALWAYS, ABSOLUTELY BE WORTH IT. AND WHEN YOU APPROACH THE TABLE OF THE LORD AND PUT HIM IN HIS RIGHTFUL PLACE IN YOUR LIFE, YOU WILL BE RENEWED, TRANSFORMED, LIFTED, ENCOURAGED, AND FILLED WITH THE HOPE AND JOY THAT YOU ARE DESPERATELY LOOKING FOR.

One thought on “Come to the Table

Leave a Reply

