Off Limits

Genesis 3:8-10

And they heard the sound of the Lord God walking in the garden in the cool of the day, and the man and his wife hid themselves from the presence of the Lord God among the trees of the garden. But the Lord God called to the man and said to him, “Where are you?” And he said, “I heard the sound of you in the garden, and I was afraid, because I was naked, and I hid myself.”

“MY DAUGHTER, WHERE ARE YOU?”

“My Lord, I am ashamed. Do not look on me.

MY DAUGHTER, WHERE ARE YOU?

Jesus, I am naked. I am ashamed. I have failed.

BELOVED, COME OUT INTO THE LIGHT AND ALLOW ME TO POUR MY CLEANSING LOVE UPON YOU.

God, you didn’t hear me right. Go away and leave me to the destiny that I deserve. Did you forget what I did last night? Didn’t you see what I allowed to happen? Did you not hear what I said to that person? I screwed up. I failed. You gave me a beautiful white gown and now I stand here, with my once beautiful dress now torn, muddied, pieces missing, incomplete and utterly filthy. I don’t deserve Your love.

I DID NOT ASK WHERE YOU WERE BECAUSE I DID NOT KNOW! I AM ASKING BECAUSE YOU NEED TO KNOW WHERE YOU ARE! YOU NEED TO KNOW THAT YOU ARE STANDING RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF MY FORGIVENESS! DO YOU HONESTLY THINK THAT THERE IS ANY SIN TOO BIG, TOO HEAVY, TO BURDENSOME FOR ME! I HUNG ON THAT CROSS TO TAKE EVERY BURDEN, EVERY SHAME, EVERY MISTAKE, EVERY INADEQUACY FROM YOU. AND I ROSE AND CONQUERED DEATH SO THAT I MAY LOOK UPON YOU AND SEE SIN NO MORE! THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING THAT YOU COULD EVER DO TO SEPARATE YOU FROM MY LOVE! MY DAUGHTER, DO NOT KEEP ANYTHING FROM ME, AND I WILL KEEP NOTHING FROM YOU. GIVE ME ALL OF YOURSELF, AND I WILL GIVE YOU ALL OF ME. NOTHING CAN BE OFF LIMITS TO ME!

I am just a frail woman. I am weak. I am tired. I am a failure. I am a liar. I am a cheater. I am a sinner. I will only dirty your hands.

OH MY BELOVED, I HAVE ALREADY DIRTIED MY HANDS WITH THE SIN OF HUMANITY. SINCE THE BEGINNING OF GENESIS, I HAVE BEEN ABOUT THE BUSINESS OF RESCUING YOU AND BRINGING YOU INTO MY GLORIOUS SALVATION. I HAVE WASHED AWAY YOUR SHAME AND I HAVE JOY AWAITING YOU. YES, YES. YOU ARE A LIAR, A CHEATER, A FAILURE, A COMPLETE MESS…ON YOUR OWN. BUT I HAVE A NEW IDENTITY AWAITING YOU.

I don’t deserve it!

THAT IS PRECISELY THE POINT! I DID NOT DESIGN OUR RELATIONSHIP AND MY LOVE FOR YOU, TO BE SOMETHING YOU COULD EARN OR DESERVE. YOU WILL NEVER EARN MY FAVOR! STOP DOING! STOP! ALL I WANT YOU TO DO IS REST! BE STILL. CEASE STRIVING. STOP TRYING TO BE GOOD ENOUGH! AND BELIEVE. BELIEVE THAT I AM THE LORD WHO DIES FOR EVERY SIN YOU HAVE EVER AND WILL EVER COMMIT. AND BELIEVE THAT IN MY AND IN ME ALONE YOU CAN HAVE ETERNAL LIFE, NOT JUST AFTER DEATH BUT HERE AND NOW, IN YOUR DAILY WALK. MY DAUGHTER, I MAKE YOU NEW EVERY MORNING. JUST RECEIVE IT. BELIEVE IT. AND TELL THE WORLD ABOUT IT!

My heart belongs to You, my King. My needs do not surprise You. The condition of my heart and soul do not surprise You. You want me to live in peace, to let You be God, to surrender every little thing to You. My control is an illusion. Oh King Jesus, remind my heart that You are good and that Your forgiveness is unfailing. Forgive me for dishonoring Your death and resurrection, by believing the lie that my sin is too much for You. I accept Your freedom. I accept Your joy. I accept Your peace. It is all available to me in every area of my life..if I simply surrender my heart to You. And I do! I give You my heart. I surrender my dreams. I lay at Your feet my fears, my past, my present, my future. Oh, how great is Your love for me that is new and alive every morning! Only You can heal me. Only You can edify me. Only You can make me new again. Only You can give me life. And I pray You give me the strength to chose, every day…every moment if that’s what it takes…to accept my new identity in You.

Leave a Reply

