A Life and Death Situation

Psalm 18:21 

“The tongue has the power of life and death…”

James 3:5

So to the tongue is a small part of the body, yet it has great pretensions. Think how small a flame sets a huge forest ablaze.

It’s amazing that such a small part of our body has such power and influence. Like a small spark can become a consuming wildfire, the small words that we utter can ignite life or death into our lives, and into the lives of those around us. Have you ever spoken hateful and angry words to somebody you loved, and watched how your words took the light out of their eyes? Do you have memories of words that others have said to you in moments of anger? Every time you remember what they said, how they said it, their tone of voice…the hurt and pain come shooting back to your heart. However, have you ever noticed how a simple greeting, or offering of kind words, or a compliment, can put a smile on a stranger’s face?

What our tongue produces has eternal implications, as it reveals what is in our hearts. In the Book of Matthew, Jesus teaches that “the good man brings good things out of the good stored up in him, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in him” (Matthew 12:35). Luke 6:45 confirms that “the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.”

Do you speak life or death into your life and into the lives of those around you? When facing a situation that calls upon our faith, do you choose life? Or do your choose death? In the stressful moments of your life, do you speak words of doubt and fear and negativity? Or do you speak words of truth and hope and trust?

I’m not saying that we can’t be honest and voice our fears. But when we voice them, do we walk in them or do we place them at the feet of Jesus? A look through Psalms shows us an example of a man who was brutally honest with the Lord, and was attributed by God as being a man after His own heart. David brought all of his questions, fears, and doubts to the Lord…but the difference is that he always chose to trust. “But evermore I will praise You!”

Are we going to be women who so easily doubt the Lord, no matter how much He reveals His faithfulness? Like the Israelites, we see God drop manna from the sky on Monday and doubt His provision on Tuesday?

Or are we going to be women of faith, who come honestly before the Lord:

“King Jesus. I need you. What I am facing seems impossible in my own imperfect human eyes. I don’t understand what is happening. Why does this has to happen? If it is possible, Lord, let this cup pass from me! But I choose to trust You, even when I don’t understand. I choose to stand in Your faithfulness, even when my circumstances are painful. I choose to believe You and take You at Your Word, even when the enemy tempts me to doubt. Like the father in Luke 9:24, I cry, ‘Lord, I believe! Help me overcome my unbelief.’ Christ in me is my hope, that even when it is hard and the situation is impossible, You have graciously given me to ability…and the choice…to trust you. Perfect my heart, and purify me to honor you, so that words of life can flow from my toungue. For Your glory and honor.”

Speak life into your world! When the rain falls and the wind blows, OPEN YOUR BIBLE AND READ THE WORDS OF LIFE OUTLOUD! As we write the Words of the Book of Life on our hearts, words of life will flow from our tongues.

Leave a Reply

