Constant

I remember receiving my first bible when I was a little girl. It was a white Precious Moments bible, with gold trim and a picture of a little girl kneeling next to a baby lamb. In the front of the Bible, there was a page with Psalm 23 written in beautiful script. I read this psalm every time I opened my beautiful little bible. There was just something about this passage that gave my young spirit a sense of peace and shelter…

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.
He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil, for you are with me;
Your rod and your staff, they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Today’s message is simple…The Lord Jesus is your constant. The word “constant” is defined as “a quantity, condition, or factor that does not vary in specified circumstances.” In my junior and senior years of high school, I was enrolled in advanced chemistry classes. Tough stuff! Whenever we would perform an experiment, there had to be a “constant,” against which the variables in the experiment were measured. This constant was the unchanging standard that provided a baseline, in order to accurately draw conclusions from the circumstances changing in the experiment.

A house built on a weak foundation will surely crumble. The Lord is your constant foundation, your source of hope and life and strength, no matter your circumstances. We need to stop allowing our current situation to define our God, and start proclaiming the power of Jesus into our situations, so that our current situation is defined in light of His truth!

When the winds blow and the waters rage…Jesus is your constant source of peace!

When the road ahead is narrow and dark…Jesus is your constant light!

When you don’t know how to face today…Jesus is your constant sovereign God who knew what your “today” would hold before you took your first breath!

When you fear tomorrow…Jesus is your constant refuge and rock of hope!

When your past haunts you…Jesus is your constant source of forgiveness and freedom and deliverance over your past.

When your financial situation reeks havoc on your home…Jesus is your constant provider, meeting all of our needs.

When the ground beneath you is uneasy and precarious…Jesus is your constant stability, a faithful and firm foundation.

When you just don’t have the strength…Jesus is your constant wellspring of power and courage.

HE IS YOUR CONSTANT. Your husband will fail you. You boss will fail you. Your family will fail you. Your best friend will fail you. Yes, even your children will fail you. And you will fail all of them. For we are imperfect people…who desperately need to put our faith and hope and trust in the ONLY ONE who is unfailing; the ONLY ONE who is perfectly faithful; the ONLY ONE whose love is perfectly unconditional.

Jesus is your constant. Let Him be your firm foundation, your perfect peace, your unending hope. How? Just humbly ask. Ask for forgiveness for trusting in man and worldly security to be your foundation and constant. Ask for strength and help to trust Him to be the Lord of your life. Ask Jesus to take over and empower your life with newness and victory…

…that you may know the “peace that passes all understanding,” no matter your circumstances…

…for the glory of the Lord Jesus Christ!”

24 “Everyone then who hears these words of mine and does them will be like a wise man who built his house on the rock. 25 And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on that house, but it did not fall, because it had been founded on the rock. 26 And everyone who hears these words of mine and does not do them will be like a foolish man who built his house on the sand. 27 And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell, and great was the fall of it.”       Matthew 7:24-27     Luke 6:46-49

 

Leave a Reply

