The Endless Battle

This morning, in the crazy frenzy of getting ready for school and running out of the house on time, I found myself saying these words to my oldest son: “Why do you always fight me? You fight me on everything. Do you not trust me? I love you and I will always want what is best for you. So when I tell you to do something, I wish you would just do it. You don’t know better than me. I have been on this planet longer than you, and I may know a thing or two. This seems to be an endless battle with you.”

Now, my son is six years olds, and I am sure that he stopped listening to me after the first five words. And I’m also sure that he didn’t really understand everything that I was saying. But as I was ranting and raving, I suddenly stopped. And I heard the Lord say these exact words to me.

I can name countless times in my life when this cycle has taken place: I doubt God and fight Him and question Him and argue with Him in the moment. Then at the end of the journey, I look back and see that God was right there with me the entire time, even when I doubted Him. I look around me and see that the Lord perfected me through the storm and I was better for it. I look up and see that God was once again faithful, even when I was not.

Can’t you just hear the Lord speak these words to our souls?

“My beloved daughter. Why do you always fight me? Do you not trust Me? Have I not proven in My Scriptures and in your life, that I have your back? Have I not given you every reason to trust Me? I love you and I will always want what is best for you. I will always work out what is good and right and true for you. I will meet your every need. I promised you that I will absolutely never leave you nor forsake you. And I don’t forget My promises! Even in the worst of storms, I never left your side. I was there to wipe your tears and hold your hand. When I tell you to do something, walk along the path I have laid. For when you do, you have the guarantee of My provision and My protection. I am the God who hung the stars in the sky. I am the God who sculpted the mountains with my bare hands. I am the God who tells the wind to blow and the rain to fall. I am the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. I am the God who parted the sea and saved the Israelites from slavery in Egypt. And I am the God who sent my Son to be the ultimate and perfect sacrifice. And I am the God who defeated death, rose from the grave, and has given you the Holy Spirit to be your constant Helper. And I am the same God who is right here with you, holding you in the palm of My hand. Have I not given you every reason to trust Me? Beloved, this endless battle does not have to continue.”

Matthew 7:9-11 —– Or which one of you, if his son asks him for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a serpent? If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him!

Leave a Reply

