Like a Child…

Before I finally landed into bed tonight, I went into my sons’ bedroom to catch just one more glimpse of my sleeping angels…and to make sure they are being sleeping angels and not giggling minions. I just love watching my children sleep. Since the day they were born, I could get lost in the serenity and tranquility of their faces. Somehow, when I watch my children sleep, I magically forget about all the havoc they caused that day!

At that time the disciples came to Jesus, saying, “Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?” And calling to him a child, he put him in the midst of them and said, “Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. —– Matthew 18:1-4

I stood there, and could not take my eyes off of my three year old son. Does he worry? Does he doubt? What matters most to him? All he cares about right now in his small little world is mommy, daddy, bubby, family, his froggy, his many bears (each one carefully named) and his collection of marbles. He does not stay up all night fretting about what tomorrow may bring. He does not worry about whether or not he will be fed and loved. He does not doubt his mommy and daddy’s love for him. When he calls our name, he expects us to be there. When he gets hurt, he knows to run straight to me and he knows my gentle kiss will cure any pain. And oh, I just love listening to him pray! When he prays his simple little prayers to Jesus, He truly believes that He hears him. Is this why Jesus says that children are the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?

Now I know that my little boy has never felt the pain of the death of a loved one, or the stress of worrying about how to pay the bills, or the overwhelming fear from the sudden loss of a job, or all the difficult things we have the privilege of experiencing as adults. But, Jesus’ word is still true. “Unless you turn and become like children…” We were children once. We were little girls dancing in our dresses pretending to be princesses – or playing in the mud and kicking the ball! – without a care in the world. But, we became adults with responsibilities and jobs and bills and children of our own to take care of. So, Jesus tells us to become like children once again and enter the kingdom of heaven with the faith of a child.

The faith of a child? What does this mean? It does not mean childishly walking through life in immaturity. It does not mean making careless decisions and expecting God to clean up the mess and save the day. It does not mean pretending that the storm we find ourselves in does not exist. It does means going to our daddy with every hurt and every tear, being honest about how we feel (have you ever noticed how honest children are about how they feel!), and trusting our daddy to ease the pain. It means not worrying about what we will eat or drink or wear, for our daddy clothes the birds in the sky and the flowers in the fields (Matthew 6:25-34). It means not allowing the “adult” things that have happened to us to harden our hearts and harvest bitterness in souls. Life is hard. It’s not easy and we live in a fallen world. But we have not been placed here without the One who will never leave us nor forsake us. The enemy will use the tough times to lie to us and suggest that we cannot take this verse in Matthew to heart. But the Lord will use the tough times to prove His love and provision for us!

Beloved, we can still approach the Lord with faith like a child. Faith that does not question her daddy. Faith that trusts that she will be taken care of. Faith that does not worry about the things that are clearly out of her hands and completely in the hands of her good, perfect, loving, sovereign Daddy. Faith that believes that her daddy really does love her and will meet her every need. My son does not question that of me.,,at least not yet! How dare we question the love and provision of the Author of Time.

Sometimes we make it too complicated. God says, “My child, trust Me.” We say, “But, God you don’t understand.” God says, “My child, I have this.” We say, “But, God this it too impossible.” God says, “I am Your provider.” We say, “But, God how will I pay the bills?” God says, “Do not worry about tomorrow.” We say, “But, God I am so afraid to face the unknown.” My friend, stop questioning your daddy and stop doubting His provision. Trust Him and find security and peace in His home. Rest in the arms of the Almighty and let him rock you to sleep. Approach the Lord Jesus Christ, and humble yourself to once again be the little three year old princess…and recklessly trust your daddy as He takes care of your every need.

Leave a Reply

