Let There Be Light

In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. The earth was formless and void, and darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was moving over the surface of the waters. Then God said, “Let there be light”; and there was light. God saw that the light was good; and God separated the light from the darkness. God called the light day, and the darkness He called night. And there was evening and there was morning, one day. —– Genesis 1:1-5

Have you ever stopped to consider the significance of the very first action that God took during His majestic work of creation? He separated the light and the darkness. The very first work of God recorded for us in the Scriptures is Him separating the light and the dark. And have you noticed the Word tells us that God said, “Let there be light.” He did not say, “Let there be darkness.” Darkness was already there. The light had to be spoken into existence by God, made alive by the power of the Lord. This reminds me of the paradox I am all too familiar with in raising my children. I don’t have to teach my children to say “no,” disobey me, hit each other, scream, or lie. This all comes naturally, as we are sinful beings and it is our instinct and our nature to wander from the good will of the Lord. My children were born selfish and sinful – we all were – and it is up to my husband and I to teach them to obey us, and say “yes ma’am” or “yes sir,” and treat each other kindly. The darkness is already in us, through the sin that we have all inherited from the garden of eden…but praise GOD that is not the end of the story!

For we know that the Law is spiritual, but I am of flesh, sold into bondage to sin. For what I am doing, I do not understand; for I am not practicing what I would like to do, but I am doing the very thing I hate. But if I do the very thing I do not want to do, I agree with the Law, confessing that the Law is good. So now, no longer am I the one doing it, but sin which dwells in me. For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh; for the willing is present in me, but the doing of the good is not. For the good that I want, I do not do, but I practice the very evil that I do not want. But if I am doing the very thing I do not want, I am no longer the one doing it, but sin which dwells in me. I find then the principle that evil is present in me, the one who wants to do good. For I joyfully concur with the law of God in the inner man, but I see a different law in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin which is in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will set me free from the body of this death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, on the one hand I myself with my mind am serving the law of God, but on the other, with my flesh the law of sin.                     —– Romans 7:14-25

Paul was very honest about the war waging within his soul between the dark and the light. And he also does not hesitate to answer this question, “Who will set us free from this battle of good and evil waging within us? Where is the hope? Willl I ever be good enough?” His answer? Jesus! The same power that separated the light and the dark in the very first miraculous moment of creation, desires to separate the light and dark within us. And He will, if we invite Him in.

I have read the creation story hundreds of times. I have learned about it in church since I was a little five year old girl memorizing what was created on each of the six days, to earn my Awanas patch! But I have overlooked this hidden gem until now. The very first thing God did was to separate light and dark! Do you see the significance of it? Nothing else could have happened; no life could have come unless the light was first spoken into existence. Light is vital for life to be successful, even possible. A plant cannot thrive in a dark room. God brought the light in, dissipating the darkness, so that He could then get to work on creating the greatest masterpiece every manifested!

You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden; nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven. —– Matthew 5:14-16

Think about a dark room. How do we brighten the room to see? We turn on the light. And how do we make the room darker for bedtime? We turn off the light. You see, darkness does not cast out light. It is impossible. Light casts out darkness. And the Scpritures tell us that we are to be the lights of the world, a city on a hill for all to see, just as Jesus was the Light, victriously putting darkness in its place. We are also told that where there is light, there is truth. With four words, “Let there be light,” our Lord God illuminated the truth of His love for us, His Word given to us, and His power living through us.

This is the business of God, to separate the light and the dark. From Genesis to Revelation, we see God about this manner of work. Through the stories of the Old Testament, to the word of Jesus in the New Testament. We can never justify doubting His ability to divide the darkness, and His authority to call the light into being. He has been doing it since literally the beginning of time. And He wants to continue this act in our lives. Out of His great love for us, Our King Jesus Christ passionately longs for us to welcome the power of His Spirit into our soul, so that He may speak those same words into our hearts and into our lives, “LET THERE BE LIGHT.” Only Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior, has the authority to speak light into existence. And when He does, darkness has no choice but to cripple in fear and go away defeated!

Praise God that we are not left to our own devices! Praise God that there is hope! Praise God that His first act was to bring light to the world. Praise God that He never gave up on this crusade, and brought THE LIGHT into the world to take the punishment for our sins, so that He may bring light into our very souls! And once the light is in our souls, new life will commence.

Leave a Reply

