This Is Our Hope

Romans 5:1-5

Therefore, having been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom also we have obtained our introduction by faith into this grace in which we stand; and we exult in hope of the glory of God. And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.

We have hope. No matter what, we have hope! We have a hope that cannot be hindered by our circumstances. We have a hope that is undefeated. We have a hope that is unfailing and ever-present. We have a hope that does not disappoint. This hope is birthed from the great love that our Heavenly Father poured out within our hearts. And through that great love, we have been given the Holy Spirit, and all the power of the heavenly places. And how is it possible that we could be given such a great Helper and Counselor? Jesus!

Do you believe it? Really. Do you realize that because our God laid down His Son, as the last and ultimate sacrifice, to face death and defeat death…because of this, we can have hope in any and every circumstance. Yes, any and every circumstance! I would never dare to minimize what you have faced and the struggles you have experienced. I myself have shed many tears from a broken heart, and have cried out to God in pain. But I will dare to allow my trials and tribulations to be minimized in light of the incredible awesomeness of God and in light of the HOPE we have in Jesus Christ!

As I walk this great unknown; Questions come and questions go
Was there purpose for the pain? Did I cry these tears in vain?
I don’t want to live in fear; I want to trust that You are near
Trust Your grace can be seen; In both triumph and tragedy
I have this hope
In the depth of my soul
In the flood or the fire
You’re with me and You won’t let go
But sometimes my faith feels think; Like the night will never end
Will You catch every tear; Or will You just leave me here?
But I have this hope
In the depth of my soul
In the flood or the fire
You’re with me and You won’t let go
So, whatever happens I will not be afraid
Cause You are closer than this breath that I take
You calm the storm when I hear You call my name
I still believe that one day I’ll see Your face
(“I Have This Hope” by Tenth Avenue North)

Leave a comment